Monday, 11 April 2011

Katie Paterson

Langjökull, Snæfellsjökull, Solheimajökull
Three glacier ice records, played until they melt.

Sound recordings from three glaciers in Iceland, pressed into three records, cast, and frozen with the meltwater from each of these glaciers, and played on three turntables until they completely melt. The records were played once and now exist as three digital films. The turntables begin playing together, and for the first ten minutes as the needles trace their way around, the sounds from each glacier merge in and out with the sounds the ice itself creates. The needle catches on the last loop, and the records play for nearly two hours, until completely melted.

The Dying Star Letters

A series of letters which proclaim stellar deaths.

Upon hearing the news that a star has died, the artist writes and posts a letter, announcing its death.

History of Darkness

History of Darkness is a slide archive; a life-long project, it will eventually contain hundreds upon thousands of images of darkness from different times/places in the history of the Universe, spanning billions of years. Each image handwritten with its distance from earth in light years, and arranged from one to infinity. (from the artists homepage).

2200 handwritten slides.

Exhibition view: BALTIC Centre of Contemporary Art, Cage Mix, 2010.

An archive of darkness from throughout the Universe.

No comments: